1997 Pro Bowl Selection

The teams selected for the NFL Pro Bowl, to be played Sunday, Feb. 1 at Honolulu (x-starter, y-first-time Pro Bowl selection):



Wide receivers: x-Herman Moore, Detroit; x-Cris Carter, Minnesota; Rob Moore, Arizona; Irving Fryar, Philadelphia.
Tackles: x-William Roaf, New Orleans; xy-Todd Steussie, Minnesota; Erik Williams, Dallas.
Guards: x-Larry Allen, Dallas; x-Randall McDaniel, Minnesota; Kevin Gogan, San Francisco.
Centers: x-Kevin Glover, Detroit; y-Tony Mayberry, Tampa Bay.
Tight ends: x-Wesley Walls, Carolina; Mark Chmura, Green Bay.
Quarterbacks: x-Brett Favre, Green Bay; Steve Young, San Francisco; y-Trent Dilfer, Tampa Bay.
Running backs: x-Barry Sanders, Detroit; xy-Dorsey Levens, Green Bay; y-Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay.
Fullback: y-Mike Alstott, Tampa Bay.

Ends: x-Reggie White, Green Bay; xy-Michael Strahan, New York Giants; Chris Doleman, San Francisco.
Interior linemen: x-Dana Stubblefield, San Francisco; x-John Randle, Minnesota; y-Warren Sapp, Tampa Bay.
Outside linebackers: xy-Jessie Armstead, New York Giants; x-Ken Harvey, Washington; y-Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay.
Inside linebackers: x-Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay; Jessie Tuggle, Atlanta.
Cornerbacks: x-Aeneas Williams, Arizona; x-Deion Sanders, Dallas; Darrell Green, Washington.
Strong safeties: x-LeRoy Butler, Green Bay; Darren Woodson, Dallas.
Free safeties: x-Merton Hanks, San Francisco.

Punter: Matt Turk, Washington.
Placekicker: y-Jason Hanson, Detroit.
Kick return specialist: Michael Bates, Carolina.
Special teamer: y-Travis Jervey, Green Bay.



Wide receivers: x-Tim Brown, Oakland; x-Yancey Thigpen, Pittsburgh; Andre Rison, Kansas City; y-Jimmy Smith, Jacksonville.
Tackles: x-Tony Boselli, Jacksonville; xy-Jonathan Ogden, Baltimore; Bruce Armstrong, New England.
Guards: x-Bruce Matthews, Tennessee; x-Will Shields, Kansas City; Ruben Brown, Buffalo.
Centers: x-Dermontti Dawson, Pittsburgh; y-Tom Nalen, Denver.
Tight ends: x-Shannon Sharpe, Denver; Ben Coates, New England.
Quarterbacks: x-John Elway, Denver; Mark Brunell, Jacksonville; Drew Bledsoe, New England.
Running backs: x-Terrell Davis, Denver; x-Jerome Bettis, Pittsburgh; y-Eddie George, Tennessee.
Fullback: Kimble Anders, Kansas City.

Ends: x-Bruce Smith, Buffalo; x-Neil Smith, Denver; Michael Sinclair, Seattle.
Interior linemen: xy-Ted Washington, Buffalo; xy-Joel Steed, Pittsburgh; Chester McGlockton, Oakland.
Outside linebackers: x-Bryce Paup, Buffalo; x-Chris Slade, New England; Derrick Thomas, Kansas City.
Inside linebackers: x-Levon Kirkland, Pittsburgh; Junior Seau, San Diego.
Cornerbacks: xy-Aaron Glenn, New York Jets; x-Dale Carter, Kansas City; y-James Hasty, Kansas City.
Strong safeties: x-Carnell Lake, Pittsburgh; Blaine Bishop, Tennessee.
Free safety: xy-Darryl Williams, Seattle. 

Punter: y-Brian Barker, Jacksonville.
Placekicker: y-Mike Hollis, Jacksonville.
Kick return specialist: Eric Metcalf, San Diego.
Special teamer: y-Larry Whigham, New England.

Return to the main page.
Send us your comments.